Australian MotoGP Qualification Results: Jorge Martin Pole, Second Marquez


Ducati rider from Spain, Jorge Martin successfully won pole position in the Australian MotoGP qualifying, Saturday (15/10/2022) local time. He recorded a best time of 1 minute 27.767 seconds or 0.013 seconds faster than Marc Marquez in second.

Since the third free practice, Jorge Martin has started to master the Phillip Island Circuit. The 24-year-old driver looks confident and almost never makes mistakes. That’s why, it’s no wonder he finally managed to lock the pole position.

Meanwhile, Marc Marquez is also able to show his best performance in Australia. Although he had swayed and almost fell when qualifying with nine minutes remaining, but he was able to control it. He and Fabio Quartararo then both competed to steal the fastest time.

As a result, Marquez managed to secure second place with a time difference of 0.013 seconds from Jorge Martin. Meanwhile, Quartararo, who appeared adamant, was only able to reach fifth position, just behind Francesco Bagnaia (3) and Aleix Espargaro (4).

PHILLIP ISLAND, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 14: Fabio Quartararo of France and Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Team heads down a straight during free practice for the MotoGP of Australia at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit on October 14, 2022 in Phillip Island, Australia.  (Photo by Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images)Fabio Quartararo at the Phillip Island Circuit, Australia. Photo: Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images

The Suzuki rider who had just returned after a long injury, Joan Mir had made a surprise at the beginning. However, in the end, he was unable to keep up with other riders and could only finish 15th in the Australian MotoGP qualifying.

Here are the Australian MotoGP Qualification Results 2022

1. Jorge Martin 1 minute 27.767 seconds
2. Marc Marquez +0.013 sec
3. Pecco Bagnaia +0.186 sec
4. Aleix Espargaro +0.190 sec
5. Fabio Quartararo +0.206 sec
6. Johann Zarco +0.240 sec
7. Luca Marini +0.262 sec
8. Jack Miller +0.349 sec
9. Marco Bezzecchi +0.418 sec
10. Alex Rins +0.774 sec

11. Alex Marquez
12. Maverick ViƱales
13. Enea Bastianini
14. Pol Espargaro
15. Joan Mir
16. Brad Binder
17. Cal Crutchlow
18. Darryn Binder
19. Remy Gardner
20. Fabio Di Giannantonio
21. Miguel Oliveira
22. Raul Fernandez
23. Franco Morbidelli
24. Tetsuta Nagashima.

Watch Videos”Aleix Espargaro and Jorge show off their motorbikes while wearing raincoats
[Gambas:Video 20detik]