Even though he is not yet fit, Lukaku is called up by the Belgian national team

ROMELU Lukaku was included in the list of Belgian national team players for the 2022 World Cup, which was announced on Thursday (10/11), although coach Roberto Martinez admitted that the Inter Milan striker was not yet fit medically.

Lukaku has only played twice for Inter since the end of August due to a hamstring injury. He returned briefly in October but ran into recurring problems.

“Romelu is medically unfit, I think this is pretty clear,” Martinez said when unveiling his 26-man squad for the 2022 World Cup, as reported by AFP.

Also read: Inzaghi believes Lukaku can strengthen Belgium at the 2022 World Cup

“Romelu is currently undergoing treatment and entering that period until November 22 — 24 hours before our first game. He has a chance to be fully fit.”

FIFA allows teams to replace players who are unable to play due to injury or COVID-19 up to 24 hours before the team’s first game at the World Cup.

Belgium, who finished third at the 2019 World Cup in Russia, will start their adventure in Qatar against Canada on November 23.

Next, they will face Morocco and 2018 runners-up Croatia in Group F.

The composition of the Belgian national team players:

Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid/Spain), Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge), Koen Casteels (Wolfsburg/Germany)

Defender: Toby Alderweireld (Royal Antwerp), Jan Vertonghen (Anderlecht), Zeno Debast (Anderlecht), Leander Dendoncker (Aston Villa/England), Wout Faes (Leicester City/England), Arthur Theate (Rennes/France)

Midfielder: Thomas Meunier (Borussia Dortmund/Germany), Timothy Castagne (Leicester City/England), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Dortmund/Germany), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/England), Axel Witsel (Atletico Madrid/Spain), Youri Tielemans (Leicester City/England), Amadou Onana (Everton/England), Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge), Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid/Spain)

Attacker: Eden Hazard (Real Madrid/Spain), Leandro Trossard (Brighton/England), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan/Italy), Michy Batshuayi (Fenerbahce/Turkey), Charles De Ketelaere (AC Milan/Italy), Lois Openda (Lens/France ), Jeremy Doku (Rennes/France), Dries Mertens (Galatasaray/Turkey) (Ant/OL-1)