Persib Failed to Win, Bali United Key to League 1 Title

BALI United is confirmed to win the 2021/2022 Liga 1 title after their competitor, Persib Bandung was held to a 0-0 draw, Friday (25/3) night WIB.

This draw means that Persib will no longer be able to catch Bali United’s points. Persib’s collection of 68 points will not be enough to shift Serdadu Tridatu who collected 72 points with one game remaining.

This achievement made Bali United set a record in Indonesian football. Serdadu Tridatu became the first team to be able to defend the title or win successively in the Indonesian League era since 1994.

Bali United won the title in the 2019 season. The competition was then stopped due to the COVID-19 pandemic and only started in the 2021/2022 season.

Read also: Slamet Nurcahyo Brings Madura United Aground Borneo FC

Besides Bali United, coach Stefano Cugurra also made a sweet note. This is the third title during his career as a coach in Indonesia. Two titles were awarded to Bali United and another title was won for Persija Jakarta in 2018.

Meanwhile, Persib Bandung must bury the dream of winning the title this season. Maung Bandung had a hard time facing Persik in that crucial match.

Persib got three chances in a row when the match was running for 14 minutes through David da Silva, Bruno Catanhede, and Frets Butuan. Persik also threatened Persib’s goal through Doinathan Machado’s free kick but could still be driven away by Maung Bandung goalkeeper, Teja Paku Alam.

Efforts to score goals continued by Persib until the end of the match, but still failed. The score 0-0 remained until the end of the game. (OL-4)