Van Gaal Drops Cillessen From Team Orange

The surprising decision was taken by the Dutch national team coach, Louis van Gaal ahead of appearing in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. In the announcement of the Team Orange squad, by the Dutch Football Federation (KNVB), Friday (11/11), the name of veteran goalkeeper Jasper Cillessen was not in the squad that van Gaal will bring to Qatar.

Cillessen, 33, has returned to his old club, NEC Nijmegen from Valencia since last August, to increase his chances of playing for the Netherlands in Qatar. However, he was unable to compete with Feyenoord goalkeeper Justin Bijlow, Ajax’s Remko Pasveer (Ajax) and Heerenveen goalkeeper Andries Noppert.

“I don’t know if you’ve watched the Cillessen game. He hasn’t been at his best for the last few weeks,” van Gaal said.

Cillessen, who made his debut with the Orange Team in 2013, was part of the Dutch national team when they were ranked third in the 2014 World Cup. To date, Cillessen has played for the Netherlands 63 times.

The news circulating said that Cillessen was very angry that he was not in the Dutch squad. In an interview last October Cillessen expressed his great desire to be able to perform in Qatar.

“It makes sense that he is disappointed. It’s logical and everyone reacts in their own way. Yes, it may be difficult, but it has to be like that,” said van Gaal. (AFP/OL-15)

Netherlands squad for Qatar 2022 World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Justin Bijlow (Feyenoord), Remko Pasveer (Ajax), Andries Noppert (Heerenveen)

Defenders: Nathan Ake (Manchester City), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Matthijs de Ligt (Bayern Munich), Jurrien Timber (Ajax), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan), Daley Blind (Ajax), Denzel Dumfries (Inter Milan) , Tyrell Malacia (Manchester United), Jeremie Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen)

Middle: Steven Berghuis (Ajax), Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Teun Koopmeiners (Atalanta), Davy Klaassen (Ajax), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Xavi Simons (PSV Eindhoven), Kenneth Taylor (Ajax)

epanForwards: Steven Bergwijn (Ajax), Memphis Depay (Barcelona), Cody Gakpo (PSV Eindhoven), Vincent Janssen (Royal Antwerp), Luuk de Jong (PSV Eindhoven), Wout Weghorst (Besiktas), Noa Lang (Club Brugge)